Let the Movie Cramming Begin!

The 2012 At the Movies viewer’s poll is now open! Which means it’s not long before I pick my 10 favourite films of the year.

As usual I haven’t seen anywhere near as many films as I would have liked, and as usual I will try to remedy that by cramming hours and hours of film watching into the space of a couple of months. It seems to me that the logical thing to do is quit my job and live on the couch for weeks straight (on a diet of pure caffeine) but my wife insists I need to leave time for being a functional member of society, so I guess that’s not an option.

“What’s that? You want me to cancel the shipment of pure caffeine I ordered too? … Honey – do me a favour and don’t look in the backyard for a few years.”

Instead I’ll just have to pick a handful of movies that I’m really interested in, and here’s where I can use your help. Below is a list of films I’m really keen on but haven’t watched yet …

  • 50/50
  • Cabin in the Woods
  • Chronicle
  • The Descendants
  • Frankenweenie
  • The Hobbit Part 1
  • The Intouchables
  • Les Miserables
  • Looper
  • Pirates! Band of Misfits
  • The Raid: Redemption
  • A Separation
  • Skyfall
  • Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Have you seen any of these? Do you think I’d be just wasting my time with any of them? Are there any others that I would be a fool to miss out on? Don’t be shy – let me know!

Note: To help with recommendations I’ve put a list of movies I’ve already seen in the comments. Also, for international readers, this list may look a little strange because it’s based on Australian release dates. Some of the films were actually released in USA in 2011 or earlier.

Think you can handle more film-talk? Check out my 2012 Movie Predictions and Favourite Movies of 2011.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Let the Movie Cramming Begin!

  1. Watched films so far list: 21 Jump Street, Amazing Spiderman, American Pie Reunion, Argo, Arrietty, The Artist, The Avengers, Brave, Dark Knight Rises, The Dictator, The Lorax, Hugo, Hunger Games, The Lady, The Master, Men in Black 3, Mirror Mirror, Moonrise Kingdom, Muppets, Prometheus, Seven Psychopaths, Wish You Were Here

  2. Alphonse says:

    Well I must start with Descendants. Just about my fav film of the year. I have a copy and will bring it around for the movie night.
    50/50 is not bad worth a look
    I know you will see Skyfall. But if you get a chance see it in IMAX. Amazing
    Looper is very good.
    Cabin in the Woods is a very odd film. in a good way. Again have a copy u can borrow.
    don’t need to really worry about Chronicle. Nothing special.
    Pirates! Band of Misfits, is good fun. surprised u have not seen that one.
    Now as I have seen 45 films this year, I will add some other ones. Not sure if u have seen them but we will see.
    Bernie, Lawless, Ruby Sparks, the Way, Your Sisters Sister & Martha Marcy May Marlene

    • What an awesome response. Thanks man! Yeah any DVDs I can borrow will be greatly appreciated. I’m currently relying on downloads which are definitely hit and miss. Okay I’ll put Chronicle near the bottom of my priority list. I’m definitely keen on some of those other films – especially Bernie, Ruby sparks … plenty of others as well. Just not sure I’ll get around to them all 😦
      Seeya next Saturday! Should be sweet!

  3. Daltonsart says:

    Finally gotten round to say thanks for the follow!!! Can I suggest ParaNorman! I don’t know why I haven’t seen it yet, but I’ve heard only good stuff! it’s animation which is always a plus.

    • I will definitely check out ParaNorman. Thanks for the suggestion! I’m a big fan of Coraline, which was by a lot of the same people so I’m sure I’ll like it .. Unfortunately it’s not officially out in Australia till early next year though.
      Thanks for taking a look at my blog, and keep up the cool artwork!

  4. Michael Bradley says:

    Looks like the salt stack on Aruba.

You Should Totally Write Something In This Box Right Now

