I <3 ‘Please Like Me’

I’ve avoided talking about TV series on this blog so far, but I had to mention how much I enjoyed the debut season of Please Like Me. It was only 6 episodes but I’m going to go ahead and say it was the best Australian comedy to hit our screens in years.

“They like me! They really like me!”

The show followed comedian, Josh Thomas – who most Australian viewers would recognise from Talking ‘Bout Your Generation as he hung out with his friends, dealt with family crises, and came out of the closet. It provided plenty of laughs and had an undeniable warmth to it, despite many of the characters clearly having trouble displaying emotion in a healthy way. It touched on issues of death, suicide, depression, racism, homophobia, infidelity and divorce but without ever feeling trite or over-dramatic. In fact, much of the comedy came from how characters didn’t react to these things (in the very first scene where Josh’s girlfriend dumps him, he is more upset about having wasted $19 on a sundae).

“This $19 sundae is suddenly pretty f***ing humiliating.”

Disney Food Blog

It was great to see a show about young people that didn’t feel like it was written from an older person’s perspective (the creators started writing the show at around age 20) and even though it didn’t shy away from the negative stereotypes attached to the younger generation (like Josh being constantly on his phone at inappropriate times) it showed that their problems are still very real.

Did I just exclude myself from the younger generation? … Oh well … I guess I had to rid myself of that delusion one day.

So, I’ll be eagerly awaiting more episodes and stubbornly ignoring the possibility that it might not get picked up for another season. If you missed it, you can watch all 6 episodes for free here (may not work for those outside Australia) but if you did catch it be sure to let me know what you thought!

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I <3 ‘Please Like Me’

  1. I’ve been watching the show online since I’m in the US and I love it. Josh isn’t your typical gay character and I like that.

  2. bekswhoknits says:

    I caught the first episode and keep meaning to watch the rest. I also liked twentysomethings on ABC2 last year for the same reason. I’m sick of 40somethings pretending to be 20somethings particularly when they try to understand technology.

You Should Totally Write Something In This Box Right Now

