Top 15 Albums of All Time

It’s the 15th of ’15, which means it’s time for me to join a handful of other bloggers in listing my 15 favourite albums (check out the other blogger’s lists here).

Please enjoy and feel free to share your own list with me …

15. Muse – Showbiz (1999)

Museshowbizalbumcover

Muse’s debut that most people dismiss as a Radiohead rip-off.

.

14. Arcade Fire – Neon Bible (2007)

Arcade_Fire_-_Neon_Bible

The hipsters’ favourite band before they ruined it all by winning a Grammy.

.

13. Weezer – Weezer (1994)

Weezer_-_Blue_Album

The first of three self-titled albums manages to be genius despite the drummer doing almost exactly the same thing over and 0ver for 40 minutes straight.

.

12. Mars Volta – Deloused in the Comatorium (2003)

De-Loused_in_the_Comatorium

Apparently the band were on more drugs when they made this album than at any time afterwards, yet it’s actually the most accessible thing they ever did. Weird.

.

11. Radiohead – The Bends (1995)

Radiohead.bends.albumart

Radiohead set out to prove that they weren’t just one-hit-wonders, and accidentally convinced a sizeable portion of humanity that they were the greatest band on Earth … and Thom Yorke is still pissed off about it.

.

10. Modest Mouse – Good News For People Who Love Bad News (2004)

MMGoodNews5075

Dance all dance hall everyday gonna dance all dance hall every day dance all dance hall every day gonna dance all dance hall every day dance all dance hall every day dance all dance hall every day …

.

9. Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream (1993)

SmashingPumpkins-SiameseDream

I don’t know what happened but somewhere along the line the guy that wrote this album turned into the guy that made albums as bad as The Future Embrace. It’s still hard to believe.

.

8. Pink Floyd – Wish You Were Here (1975)

WishYouWereHere-300

I’ve often had to correct people when they’ve assumed I’m a regular recreational drug-taker. I’m not sure why people keep getting that impression, but my love of Pink Floyd albums probably has something to do with it.

.

7. Radiohead – Kid A (2000)

Radiohead.kida.albumart

The band’s apparent attempt to lose most of their pesky, loyal fans by making an album so weird that most people would run away screaming. Unfortunately for the band it’s actually brilliant – even though it takes about 250 listens to start to appreciate it fully.

.

6. Queens of the Stone Age – Songs for the Deaf (2002)

Queens_of_the_Stone_Age_-_Songs_for_the_Deaf

I’m so hardcore that the heaviest band in this list has a singer that sounds like he could have been a 1940’s crooner alongside Sinatra.

.

5. Pink Floyd – Dark Side of the Moon (1973)

220px-Dsotm30

One of the most popular albums of all time is, not-surprisingly, very very good … even when it’s not synched up to Wizard of Oz.

.

4. Eels – Electro-Shock Blues (1998)

Eels-Blues

Suicide, madness, cancer, funerals – all without any metaphors to hide behind. Sound like a good time? If you said “yes”, this is the album for you!

.

3. Arcade Fire – Funeral (2004)

ArcadeFireFuneralCover

My ex-girlfriend once said that she couldn’t listen past the first song on this album because that one track kept turning her into an emotional wreck. Strangely, I can kind of understand where she was coming from. Though if she hasn’t listened to the rest of it by now, that’s pretty weird.

.

2. Flaming Lips – Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots (2002)

TheFlamingLips-YoshimiBattlesThePinkRobots

Who said that great albums can’t have silly titles?

.

.

And number 1 is …..

.

.

1. Radiohead – OK Computer (1997)

Radiohead.okcomputer.albumart-1

Every track is amazing. Yes … even Fitter Happier.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Top 15 Albums of All Time

  1. mikeladano says:

    Fantastic list! There are a lot of artists and albums here I love. That’s my fave QOTSA album too, even though all my friends prefer the self-titled!

  2. Pingback: Top 15 On The 15th | keepsmealive

  3. Ben says:

    Man, there are some awesome albums in this list!
    Siamese Dream is one of my favs too, Disarm would be in the running for my top 10 songs of all time…

    • Thanks! Yeah Disarm is brilliant. I’d have a hard time choosing a favourite track from that album though – I’ve always had a real soft spot for Soma but then there’s Cherub Rock, Today, Geek USA, Disarm, and the underrated epic Silverfuck. Too many gems to pick just one!

  4. stephen1001 says:

    Wonderful list Andy – we’ve got some overlap which doesn’t surprise me in the least!
    I just had deloused on in the car the other day, tracks 2 & 3 are outstanding. And Ocean Breathes Salty, perhaps my favourite MM selection, nice to see the video here.
    Has the baby arrived yet? Hope all is well. I know the next generation in your family will have excellent musical taste!

    • Gracias, Stephen! Yes crank that deloused action. It’s so good. Eriatarka is probably my favourite (track 6). Baby will be here very soon. Haven’t decided whether I’m going to talk about that much on the blog – but yes I can imagine Wife and I will be fighting over influencing their musical taste as they grow up. I bet they will probably develop a completely different style just to throw us both though :p

  5. sourgirlohio says:

    Great list. I wish I could have fit Smashing Pumpkins and Modest Mouse into mine.

  6. 1537 says:

    Great list. I’m getting hints through that you kinda like Radiohead? just reading between the lines, I guess.

  7. Pingback: Top 15 Albums | 1001albumsin10years

  8. Pingback: Top 15 on the 15th: | KingcrimsonBlog - The official Blog of Kingcrimsonprog

  9. J. says:

    Great list. I love a fair few of the albums here – particularly those from Weezer, Radiohead, Modest Mouse and Yoshimi.

  10. Pingback: Fifteen on the Fifteenth: Favourite Albums | Resurrection Songs

  11. Pingback: Top 15 On The 15th | Tangled Up In Music

  12. Pingback: My Top 15 Albums Of All Time | Living a Beautiful Life

You Should Totally Write Something In This Box Right Now

